





# **Decision Science and Market Transformation Pathways Workshop**

Thursday, December 3 – Friday, December 4, 2015

DC Architecture Center 421 7th Street NW Washington, DC 20024

### PARTICIPANT LIST

### **Jeffrey Alexander**

Associate Director for Research and Analytics, Center for Science, Technology and Economic Development

### **Doug Arent**

Executive Director, Joint Institute for Strategic Energy Analysis, National Renewable Energy Laboratory

#### Shahzeen Attari

Assistant Professor, School of Public and Environmental Affairs, Indiana University Bloomington

#### Sam Baldwin

Chief Science Officer, Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy, U.S. Department of Energy

### **Ruth Greenspan Bell**

Public Policy Scholar, Environmental Change and Security Program, Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars;

Research Associate, Center for Decision Sciences, Columbia University Business School; Visiting Scholar, Environmental Law Institute

### **Bryan Bollinger**

Assistant Professor of Marketing, The Fuqua School of Business, Duke University

#### Sarah Brookhart

Executive Director, Association for Psychological Science

### **Adam Cohen**

Science Team Lead, Split Technology, Inc.; Co-founder, CertainSolar, Inc

### **Craig Connelly**

Special Assistant to the Program Director, SunShot Initiative, Solar Energy Technologies Office, U.S. Department of Energy

### **Fay Lomax Cook**

Assistant Director for the Social, Behavioral, and Economic Sciences, National Science Foundation; Professor, Human Development and Social Policy (on leave), Northwestern University; Faculty Fellow, Institute for Policy Research, Northwestern University

### **Alex Davis**

Assistant Professor, Department of Engineering and Public Policy, Carnegie Mellon University

#### Julia Day

Assistant Professor, Department of Apparel, Textiles, and Interior Design, Kansas State University

#### Andy DeSoto

Methodology Fellow, Association for Psychological Science

### **Cheryl Eavey**

Program Director, Methodology, Measurement, and Statistics, Directorate for Social, Behavioral & Economic Sciences (SBE), National Science Foundation

#### **Karen Ehrhardt-Martinez**

Associate Director and Social Science Expert, Navigant Consulting

### **Kenneth Gillingham**

Assistant Professor of Environmental & Energy Economics (on leave), Yale University

### **Michael Hand**

White House Social and Behavioral Sciences Team, Office of Evaluation Services, General Services Administration

### **Josh Hunevcutt**

Program Manager, SunShot Initiative, Solar Energy Technologies Office, U.S. Department of Energy

### **Tianzhen Hong**

Scientist, Simulation Research Group, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

### **Stephanie Johnson**

SunShot Science & Technology Policy Fellow, Solar Energy Technologies Office, U.S. Department of Energy

### **Shalin Jyotishi**

Program Coordinator for Science, Engineering and Technology, American Academy of Arts and Sciences

#### **Beth Karlin**

Research Director, Norman Lear Center, University of Southern California

#### Liz Keenan

Assistant Professor of Business Administration, Marketing Unit, Harvard Business School

### Leidy Klotz

S. E. Liles, Jr. Distinguished Professor, Glenn Department of Civil Engineering, Clemson University

#### Lauren Kubiak

Energy Policy Analyst, Natural Resources Defense Council

# Kiran Lakkaraju

Senior Member of Technical Staff, Cognitive Sciences and Systems, Sandia National Laboratories

### **Jared Langevin**

EERE Science and Technology Policy Fellow, Building Technologies Office, U.S. Department of Energy

### **Alison Leaf**

Hellman Fellow in Science and Technology Policy, American Academy of Arts and Sciences

#### Michael Li

Senior Policy Advisor, Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy, U.S. Department of Energy

### Jack Mayernik

Building Energy Analyst, National Renewable Energy Laboratory

### **Susan Mazur-Stommen**

Principal and Founder, Indicia Consulting LLC; formerly Behavior and Human Dimensions Program Director, American Council for an Energy-Efficient Economy

### M. Granger Morgan

Hamerschlag University Professor of Engineering; Professor, Department of Engineering and Public Policy, Carnegie Mellon University; Co-Director, Center for Climate and Energy Decision Making

### **Cherry Murray**

Benjamin Peirce Professor of Technology and Public Policy and Professor of Physics, Harvard School of Engineering and Applied Sciences

#### **Christina Nichols**

Contractor to the Solar Energy Technologies Program/SunShot Initiative, U.S. Department of Energy

### Mary Ellen O'Connell

Interim Director, Board on Environmental Change and Society;
Deputy Executive Director, Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education;
National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine

### Robert O'Connor

Program Director, Decision, Risk and Management Sciences, Directorate for Social, Behavioral & Economic Sciences (SBE), National Science Foundation

### **Christopher Payne**

Department Head, Building and Industrial Applications; Group Leader, Sustainable Federal Operations, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

#### **Patrick Phelan**

Emerging Technologies Program Manager, Building Technologies Office, U.S. Department of Energy

### **Ammar Ousaibaty**

Senior Renewable Energy Consultant, SunShot Program, U.S. Department of Energy

### Varun Rai

Assistant Professor at the LBJ School of Public Affairs; Director, Energy Systems Transformation Research Group, University of Texas at Austin

### John Randell

Program Director, Science, Technology, and Global Security, American Academy of Arts and Sciences

## Philip Rubin

Senior Advisor to the President, Chief Executive Officer emeritus, Haskins Laboratories; formerly Principal Assistant Director for Science, White House Office of Science and Technology Policy

### Maxine L. Savitz

Vice Chair, President's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology; General Manager, Honeywell, Inc., *retired* 

#### Steven Sexton

Assistant Professor, Sanford School of Public Policy and Department of Economics; Faculty Fellow, The Energy Initiative, Duke University

#### Tarak Shah

Senior Advisor to the Under Secretary for Science and Energy, U.S. Department of Energy

### **Keerthi Shetty**

Hellman Fellow in Science and Technology Policy, American Academy of Arts and Sciences

### **Benjamin Sigrin**

Energy Systems Modeling Engineer, National Renewable Energy Laboratory

#### Paul Stern

Senior Scholar, Board on Environmental Change and Society, National Research Council

### **Ryan Stolley**

AAAS Science and Technology Policy Fellow, Solar Energy Technologies Office, U.S. Department of Energy

### **Margaret Taylor**

Project Scientist, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory; Engineering Research Associate, Stanford University

#### Jessika Trancik

Assistant Professor of Engineering Systems, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

### **Elaine Ulrich**

Solar Energy Technologies Office, Team Lead Soft Costs of Solar Deployment, U.S. Department of Energy

### Michael Vandenbergh

David Daniels Allen Distinguished Chair of Law;
Director, Climate Change Research Network;
Co-Director, Energy, Environment and Land Use Program, Vanderbilt Law School

### Yevgeniy Vorobeychik

Assistant Professor of Computer Science, School of Engineering, Vanderbilt University

### Erez Yoeli

Research Scientist, Program for Evolutionary Dynamics, Harvard University